Love Beyond Labels

Here’s what matters to me.IMG_4926_2

It’s so sweetly summed up in the words to the song ‘Kindness’, written and performed by the band Quiet Company:


Open up the cloud, let the flood come down and wash the earth.

Carry all the dust and the dirt and the ash of what we were.
And the wolves only come at night, but darlin’,
you and I, we were made for the light.
Open up the clouds, let the flood come down on me.

And I’ll say with all the confidence I have,
if your feet are getting tired I can take you on my back,
and we will carry one another as we march into the sun,
saying darlin’ I will never get enough of your kindness,
of your laughter,
of your love.

I can hear the trees as they bend in the breeze and they call our names.
Calling us forth, we were born from the earth in a golden age.
And I walked all across this land looking for a love I could understand,
looking for a price that a soul could pay
and a blessed plot of land where our bodies lay with a stone put above our heads,
it’ll mark our place.

Say that we will always be this way:
always moving, always shaking, always building, always breaking.
I’m gonna love you ‘til the grave:
I’ll make songs of all the things we said,
build a monument in the place we met,
teach the cynics what it means to be in love.


I don’t care if we are soul mates, twin flames, karmic twins… None. Of. That.  I don’t care if we are Lexus, Bentley, Maserati… Magnum, Le Tigre, or Blue Steel.

I care about the little things.  Coffee together in the morning if we can.  Yoga together any time we can.  Moments of connection and kindness.  Gratitude.  Let’s do the little things well.

I also care about the big things.  When we catch ourselves telling some old story, let’s write a new chapter where we do something wonderful and new.  Let’s be interdependent, supporting one another in their highest good, no matter what.  Let’s be open to helping others, and of being a catalyst for progress and change in our world.  Let’s do the big things well, too.

And let’s go on adventures, and create memorable experiences by living in our unique moments.

Let’s defy the norms, the statuses, and the false idols… let’s follow our collective heart.smile

We get to write this story.

Let’s not be limited by trendy terms, whatever the fad name is for the best relationship ever.  We can and are as transcendent and as enduring as any.  Here’s to you, Susan, for being all of it.

Leave a Reply

