Sublimation and Conversion, Part 2.

Follow your bliss.

If you do follow your bliss,

you put yourself on a kind of track
that has been there all the while waiting for you,
and the life you ought to be living
is the one you are living.
When you can see that,
you begin to meet people
who are in the field of your bliss,
and they open the doors to you.
I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid,
and doors will open
where you didn’t know they were going to be.
If you follow your bliss,
doors will open for you that wouldn’t have opened for anyone else.

~ Joseph Campbell

(My apologies for the positioning of these pictures, I could NOT get the formatting to function properly on WordPress…)

MARCH 7 – 10 PHOENIX & SEDONA ARIZONA, AND THE GRAND CANYON

529719_10151523565530266_290033086_n599050_10151526878720266_1779479670_n417556_10151527050120266_1535158307_n

Another cancelled trip / weekend with my erstwhile twin flame lead me once again to the idea of being open to ‘what is’… We had in the course of our getting to know each agreed that our life together would be a blend of family, career, spiritual growth, and adventure. My passions, my bliss had not changed… We had been planning to attend a Fat Tire Festival in Ocala Florida together, but that was off. The weather in Atlanta was still nasty, cold, gray and rainy and I had the weekend free… and more cancelled ticket credits to use.

Sherri at The Grand Canyon
Sherri at The Grand Canyon

I had met through social media and a shared friend, a woman named Sherri Columbus who is a healer, intuitive, and light worker.  We were discussing the subject of Twin Flame Relationships for some time.  Prior to having met my “Twin Flame” I had never heard of such a thing, much less experienced one, and the loss of it still had me reeling…  Sherri and I shared a similar need to try to come to terms with the feelings of loss. Neither of us were particularly accustomed to having issues ‘letting go’ except in our current situations.  This type of relationship and it’s intensity can create strong feelings of martyrdom and screams of codependency, but to state it as such would be a terrible misdiagnosis

Our discussions lead to the idea of me coming to Sedona and us working on some of this together.  I had never been to Arizona, never been to Sedona… but, it had always been on my list of places to go.  She said the scenery, air and history of the area was amazing and at the very least… ‘FUN’.

Sherri has a very strong and very warm personality.  It is impossible to argue with her, I mean, unless you’re stupid and can’t get out of your own way… Within moments I had found an amazing deal on a non-stop to Phoenix, and decided to stay at The Arizona Biltmore.

Arizona Biltmore
Arizona Biltmore

Arizona Biltmore Gardens (Aside:  My father had been an architect — and so my brother and I were steeped in the traditions and styles of Frank Lloyd Wright and Mies Van Der Rohe…)  I couldn’t come to Arizona and not stay there.  And just my luck there was a special rate… BONUS.   And for the rest of the weekend I would just either flop on Sherri’s futon or grab a hotel in Sedona.  (It’s worth inserting at this juncture that my erstwhile twin flame lashed out at me for this trip… sensing there was more than there is for Sherri and I, and not that it mattered anyway, in retrospect, since I was dumped… I was actually going there, to Arizona, to hep myself hold space in my heart and soul FOR the purpose of hopefully reuniting at some point, and to try to make sense of all the feelings I was still having… NOT to start another relationship… and when confronted I simply said “come with me” which was met with silence)…

On the night I arrived in Phoenix, it was warm and dry and breezy.  Desert storms loomed off in the distance.  I ran six miles along the Arizona Canal… then returned to the room and finally out for a very late meal.  The next morning I was able to find an Ashtanga class in Phoenix with an adjacent juice bar… (Metta Yoga and s.e.e.d.

Fresh Juice at S.E.E.D.
Fresh Juice at S.E.E.D.

at the Madison Improvement Club) ….

Off to Sedona I headed…  The weather really started to change as I drove north… First a light rain, then real rain.  I finally made it to Sherri’s place and it was a full on deluge.  Off we went to locate hot coffee and clothes appropriate for being out in the rain.  I found a hat and gloves at goodwill and we found a great coffee shop, then a consignment store where Sherri found a cool hoodie.  In the meantime the rain turned to snow.  Our next stop was the Amitabha Stupa.

After that we were pretty thoroughly cold wet and hungry, so we headed to Tlaquepaque for dinner and galleries.  By now it was a full on blizzard… It was amazing.  The giant white flakes…  After dinner we went back to Sherri’s as I needed a nap and she had some work to do.

Sedona Blizzard!
Sedona Blizzard!

The next day, we decided to head, because of the weather, to the Grand Canyon.  Yes that’s right.  And off we headed.  First we stopped at the snow covered Slide Rock State Park… It was a winter wonderland… SO MUCH FUN!

Slide Rock 3
Slide Rock 3
Slide Rock 2
Slide Rock 2
Slide Rock 1
Slide Rock 1

Then we headed up 89A north… the road itself felt like some sort of ‘other world’…

Finally we reached the Grand Canyon.  I am sure many of you have been here, but neither of us had.  It is a place that is beyond description.  Let  a sampling of pictures tell the story.

Slide Rock 4
Slide Rock 4

One of my favorite parts of this ‘drive’ — Sherri seeing signs, totems, gathering all sorts of ‘spiritual’ insights from our surroundings as we drove.  So, we’d be talking and suddenly she would get a sign… and interpret it to the exact context of the conversation.

On Sunday, I woke up early, as always (plus, I am notoriously on EST… ) so I went for coffee…  Then we met up at Sherri’s place and went to Red Rock State Park … It was a crystal clear blue sky, sunny perfect day… Oak Creek was surging from all of the snow and rain…

I will continue this series of writings on Sublimating lost love but as more of a celebration of what I’ve discovered, because the trips and experiences (both light and dark) of this year were so soul shifting and integrating.P1180842

Coming up next is a truly incredible adventure to Costa Rica!  Stay tuned.


P1180755

IMG_5514IMG_5450IMG_5445P1180821
P1180840

Leave a Reply

